

Nominations and Appointment Subcommittee (N&ASC)

Martin J. Bastiaans

Region 8 Operations Manual, R8–6.1.2.1: The Region 8 Nominations and Appointments Subcommittee shall identify qualified candidates for elected and appointed positions of Region 8 and its Committees, including candidates for the Director-Elect slate.

IEEE Region 8 Nominations and Appointments Subcommittee

Composition

- Past Director (ex officio): Martin Bastiaans (Benelux), Chair
- Director (ex officio): Costas Stasopoulos (Cyprus)
- Director–Elect (ex officio): Margaretha Eriksson (Sweden)
- (former) Section Chair (elected): Jacob Baal-Schem (Israel)
- (former) Section Chair (elected): Rui Santos Cruz (Portugal)
- (former) Section Chair (elected): Athanassios Skodras (Greece)

Elected candidates must fulfill one of the following criteria at the time of their election:

- be a Section Chair in office
- have been a Section Chair within the past 3 years
- have been a Section Chair and currently holding an elected or appointed position of the R8 Committee.

IEEE Annual Election 2016

Election time line:

- 15 August IEEE annual election has opened.
- 3 October ballots must be received by 17:00 UTC.
- *Note*: At its November 2015 meeting, the IEEE Board of Directors approved the presentation of proposed revisions to the IEEE Constitution. The revisions, in the form of a single amendment, will be presented to the IEEE voting members for approval as part of the 2016 IEEE annual election ballot. To adopt this amendment, an affirmative vote of at least two-thirds of all ballots cast is required, provided the total number of those voting is not less than ten percent of all IEEE's members who are eligible to vote. Ballots marked neither FOR nor AGAINST the proposed amendment will not be counted as votes.

For more information see http://www.ieee.org/about/corporate/election/2016_constitutional_amendment.html.

Candidates for 2017 IEEE President-Elect:

- James Jefferies
- Wanda Reder

Candidates for 2017–2018 IEEE Region 8 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect:

- Tariq Durrani (United Kingdom and Ireland)
- Elya Joffe (Israel)
- Magdalena Salazar Palma (Spain)

For all details see http://www.ieee.org/elections.

IEEE Region 8 Elections 2016

The IEEE Region 8 Committee elects new IEEE Region 8 Officers and three new members of the IEEE Region 8 Nominations and Appointments Subcommittee in its 107th meeting in Porto, 24–25 September 2016.

Election time line:

- 19 March 2016 Call for nominations announced during the 106th R8 Committee meeting; deadline 1 June 2016.
- 28 March 2016 First call for nominations sent to the appointed members of the R8 Committee and the members of the R8 Subcommittees.
- 30 March 2016 First call for nominations sent to the IEEE Region 8 Section and Subsection Chairs.
- 31 March 2016 Call for nominations (only for R8 Officers) sent to all (2625) active IEEE volunteers who reside in R8.
- 18 May 2016 Second call for nominations sent to the R8 Section and Subsection Chairs and to the appointed members of the R8 Committee and the members of the R8 Subcommittees.
- Throughout till the nomination deadline of 1 June 2016 The R8 Nominations and Appointments Subcommittee contacted possible candidates who had been suggested by others and invited them to submit their nominations.
- 23–24 July 2016 The Region 8 Nominations and Appointments Subcommittee discussed at its meeting in Stockholm the candidates for the slates of Region 8 Officers and the Region 8 Nominations and Appointments Subcommittee.
- 2 August 2016 The Region 8 Nominations and Appointments Subcommittee informed the Region 8 Committee about the initial slate of candidates and opened the possibility for petition until 26 August.
- No candidates have been nominated by petition.



- 2 September 2016 The Region 8 Nominations and Appointments Subcommittee informed the Region 8 Committee about the final slate of candidates.
- 24–25 September 2016 Elections during the 107th R8 Committee meeting in Porto.
 - The Region 8 officers will be elected by the voting members of the Region 8 Committee, i.e., the Region 8 Section Chairs (or their substitutes) and the Region 8 OpCom members.
 - The members of the Region 8 Nominations and Appointments Subcommittee will be elected by the Region 8 Section Chairs (or their substitutes).

Candidates for 2017 (and 2018) Region 8 Officers:

2017-2018 Secretary:

• Jan Verveckken (Benelux)

2017-2018 Treasurer:

• Ralph Kennel (Germany)

2017 Vice Chair Member Activities:

- Antonio Luque (Spain)
- Adeel Sultan (United Arab Emirates)

2017 Vice Chair Student Activities:

- Efthymia (Femia) Arvaniti (Austria)
- Oyewole (John) Funso-Adebayo (Nigeria)

2017 Vice Chair Technical Activities:

- Daniel Pasquet (France)
- Christopher James (United Kingdom and Ireland)

Candidates for 2017–2018 Region 8 Nominations and Appointments Subcommittee members:

- Mahmud Fotuhi-Firuzabad (Iran)
- Ali Hessami (UK and Ireland)
- Ljupco Karadzinov (Republic of Macedonia)
- Panayiotis Symeou (Cyprus)

IEEE Region 8 Elections 2017

• We are looking for candidates for 2019–2020 IEEE Region 8 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect.